Austin – May 26 2012

Eurovision Song Contest 2012 Party

Photos © Eurocircle. For privacy reasons we ask you not to copy these to Facebook or other social networks

EuroVision Song Contest Party
SACC-Texas, EuroCircle & SWEA Austin present

NOTE: Change of venue (construction delayed)
Where: 200 E. 6th St.Ste. #300, Austin, TX 78701
When: Saturday, May 26th at 1pm. Show starts at 2pm.
Cost: $10 includes drinks & lighter snacks.
(you can also pay at the door but in-advance payments are greatly appreciated for preparation purposes)

PRE-PAY via SACC website so we can keep all payments in one place to avoid problems:

Come root for your favorite European country and/or performer!

What is Eurovision?
The Eurovision Song Contest is an annual competition held among active member countries of the European Broadcasting Union (EBU).
Each member country submits a song to be performed on live television and then casts votes for the other countries’ songs to determine the most popular song in the competition. The Contest has been broadcast every year since its inauguration in 1956 and is one of the longest-running television programs in the world. It is also one of the most-watched non-sporting events in the world, with audience figures having been quoted in recent years as anything between 100 million and 600 million internationally.

The European Broadcasting Union (EBU) was formed on 12th February 1950 by 23 broadcasting organisations from Europe and the Mediterranean at a conference in Devon, United Kingdom. It was on the 6th of June, 1954, that Montreux became the venue for the first transmission by the EBU’s Eurovision Network of the Narcissus Festival and its flower-bedecked procession floats.

“Did you know that not only stars like ABBA, Celine Dion, Cliff Richard and Julio Iglesias took part, but also dance act Riverdance thanks its fame to the Eurovision Song Contest?”
The first Eurovision viewers eagerly watched on four million television sets in homes, bars, and shop windows in Germany, Belgium, France, the United Kingdom, Italy, the Netherlands and Switzerland.

See for more info